Laona Foundation for the Conservation and Regeneration of Cypriot Countryside, The Foundation is a private non-profit-making organisation established to implement the Laona Project, a rural regeneration and ecotourism project in western Paphos, which was completed in 1994.  The project involved five villages on the border of the proposed Akamas reserve area and helped introduce the concept of agrotourism to Cyprus through the project’s activities. Since 1994 the Laona Foundation has broadened the scope of its activities to cover all areas of Cyprus.


The Open University of Cyprus (OUC), the second State Institution of University Education in Cyprus established in 2001, is at the forefront of open and distance education, combining face-to-face meetings with distance studying of specially designed educational material. The University has three faculties (Pure and Applied Sciences, Humanities and Social Sciences and Economics and Management), with over 5000 graduate and undergraduate students. OUC actively participates in many of the largest and most significant, international university networks and educational associations. Funding in OUC comes from the Cyprus Research Promotion Foundation, FP7, CULTURE, LIFE+, LLP and ICT programmes of the European Union. Work in the project is carried out by the Terrestrial Ecosystem Management Lab (TemLab) Research in TemLab is based on traditional approaches to ecosystem management coupled with landscape ecology principles, namely the importance of spatial configuration of ecological processes.
The Royal Society for the Conservation of Nature (RSCN) aims to create, manage and advocate for a national network of protected areas to conserve Jordan’s biodiversity and support local community development, while also promoting wider public support and action for the protection of the natural environment within Jordan and neighboring countries.

The German-Jordanian University (GJU) is a public university located in Mushaqar. It was founded in 2005 by a Royal Decree, in accordance with a Memorandum of Understanding reached between the Ministry of Higher Education and Scientific Research of the Hashemite Kingdom of Jordan, and the Federal Ministry of Education and Research of the Federal Republic of Germany. In August 2004, a founding committee had taken up its activities in Jordan. The committee was in close cooperation with the Ministry of Higher Education and Scientific Research. At the same time, the German planning office opened at the University of Magdeburg-Stendal in close cooperation with the Federal Ministry of Education and Research BMBF and the German Academic Exchange Services DAAD, which is funding the university project for a period of four years. The project is funded by the Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF) and the German Academic Exchange Service (DAAD) under the "German Study Programmes Abroad" programme.

SPNL, the BirdLife national partner in Lebanon, aims at protecting nature, birds and biodiversity in Lebanon and to promote sustainable use of resources with people through reviving the concept of Al Hima. As a national environmental NGO in Lebanon, SPNL contributes to both raising awareness on environmental issues and concretely protecting natural areas in Lebanon. SPNL bases its work on sound science and passionate commitment, which through transparent and democratic processes, leads to a well-informed public. SPNL strives to advocate a better quality of life for people and nature, through conserving sites, protecting species, and assuring sustainability.
AUB Founded in 1866, the American University of Beirut bases its educational philosophy, standards, and practices on the American liberal arts model of higher education. A teaching-centered research university, AUB has around 700 instructional faculty and a student body of around 8,000 students. The University encourages freedom of thought and expression and seeks to graduate men and women committed to creative and critical thinking, life-long learning, personal integrity, civic responsibility, and leadership. The University, which was granted institutional accreditation in June 2004 by the Commission on Higher Education of the Middle States Association of Colleges and Schools in the United States and reaffirmed in June 2009, includes six faculties: Agricultural and Food Sciences, Arts and Sciences, Engineering and Architecture, Health Sciences, Medicine (which includes the Rafic Hariri School of Nursing), and the Suliman S. Olayan School of Business. AUB currently offers more than 120 programs leading to the bachelor's, master's, MD, and PhD degrees. The University became coeducational in 1922; its student body is 50 percent male and 50 percent female. The language of instruction is English (except for courses in the Arabic Department and other language courses). The student faculty ratio is 13 to 1.
Med-INA is a non-profit organisation, legally established in Athens, Greece, in September 2003. Its Board consists of eminent scientists, while its Scientific Secretariat of seven staff members is multidisciplinary. Its activities are supported financially by donations from individuals and foundations (especially the MAVA Foundation for Nature) and by public, project-related funds.Med-INA collaborates closely –providing administrative and scientific support– with the Ramsar Culture Working Group, the MedWet Culture Network and the Delos Initiative of IUCN/WCPA.



The University of the Aegean (UAegean) was founded in 1984 aiming to introduce new approaches in higher education in Greece and worldwide and to promote regional development. Situated in 6 picturesque islands in the Aegean Archipelago, the UAegean offers a unique natural, cultural and human environment for modern studies in the ancient cradle of knowledge. From its earliest days, the UAegean challenged the prevailing limitations of the academic endeavor in Greece, both in terms of educational approach and in terms of organizational structure. These challenges were soon transformed into advantages which have culminated in academic achievements and the rapid development of the institution.